Banana Nut Loaf, yum.

So. I had another conversation with the voo-doo doc a couple weeks ago. I expressed some concerns about weight loss and my HUGE cravings for baked goods. In my previously gluten-filled life, I was quite a baker. She suggested I use almond flour and try a couple quick bread recipes. Huh… almond flour? baking?? I’m on it. After 3 hours of internet searches, I thought I’d found a couple worthy of a try.

My first attempt was for banana nut muffins. Not bad, not great (did I mention I have trouble following a recipe?). I (mostly) followed the recipe at scdrecipe.com. My biggest issue was actually poor choice of equipment. I didn’t notice that my food processor, while showing 4cup capacity, was actually only capable of holding only 2cups of liquid… needless-to-say, I had a good-sized puddle of egg mixture covering my counter. The result was similar to pop-overs and the bottom was a bit egg-y. My suggestion, make sure you blend/puree for the full 4-5 mins in an actual blender.

The second recipe I tried was for banana bread. I have an issue using the term “bread” for baked goods that do not include gluten, so you’ll see the term ‘loaf’ used often. This was a much more successful attempt. I have made this recipe twice. Each time I forgot to take a photo until the entire loaf was gone. I suppose that gives me another reason to make it again this weekend!! All of my bread recipes are baked in a stoneware pan.

BANANA NUT LOAF (adapted from scdrecipe.com)

1/2 cup honey
3 large eggs
3 mashed bananas, very ripe
3 cups almond flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
3/4 cup walnut halves

Preheat oven to 350degrees; butter pan very well. Mix first 3 ingredients in blender and pulse 30sec-1min. Add almond flour and next 4 ingredients and pulse until combined. Add walnut halves and pulse 3-5 times to coarse chop. Bake 50-60mins, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Notes: Don’t be scared, the baking soda will cause the outer crust to get darker brown. It does not affect the taste. Also, my oven tends to the shorter end of the time frame, but all ovens are not equal.

This bread is so good and satisfying. My husband and I have eaten an entire loaf in 24-36hours… try it, you’ll see!

2 responses to “Banana Nut Loaf, yum.

  1. Almond flour is so wonderful! I don’t know what I would do without it! I just recently came across your blog and I’m looking forward to following your progress. How are your digestive issues since going on the SCD diet? I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease and my symptoms are nearly non-existent since following a strict regimen of SCD/GAPS and herbal supplements. Keep up the great work!

    • Your phrase “nearly non-existent” is very accurate in describing my issues now. Every once in a while, I think I’m OK and can have that piece of candy staring at me. I’m quickly reminded that I cannot. It’s amazing how many other symptoms (I didn’t think were related) have diminished too (headaches, joint pain…)

Leave a Reply

