Hello apple season!

I’ve missed you.

Changing to the SCD diet this summer has made me acutely aware of which fruit is in season and when. My Publix store had very scarce apple cartons last week, but on Monday, they were stocked full. Regardless of being in season, I usually find myself picking up a couple Fuji or Honeycrisps each week. I know full well that the nutritional quantities change with storage, but they still taste so good.

I have dreams of becoming a gardener. My husband finds this hilarious. He refers to my planters as sarcophagus’s and my recent pruning of the jasmine – attempted herbicide… (Its now thriving, just so you know). In my gardening dreams, I have apple trees. Maybe I should pause here for a minute to tell you now that I’m a researcher to the core. If I find something that peaks my interest, I need to know everything I can find – all sides of the story. As such, I now have gardening catalogs coming to my house and saved websites in my bookmarks; one cannot be too prepared. I know that the Fuji apple is one of the best storing apples and I’ve memorized the harvest times for several of my favorite varieties.

I was browsing a couple different sites and came across an apple upside down cake. I stared for a while, drooled a bit, and then jumped up and ran to the kitchen. I didn’t have time to make a cake at 9pm on a Sunday, but I did have apples and an apple baker! I’ve thrown this together a couple times before with mixed results. I suppose I could find an actual recipe online, but this one came out pretty good. If you don’t have an apple baker, don’t worry, just use any small dish (or heck make 4 and put them in an 8×8!).

Welcome Back Apples!

BAKED APPLE

1tbsp honey
2tbsp butter melted
1tsp cinnamon
1/4C chopped nuts (my husband thought there should be more-add to your taste!)
1 apple pealed/cored (sweet variety – Fuji is my favorite)
salt to taste

Preheat oven to 375degrees. Mix butter and honey. Make small vertical slits around the apple (careful not to cut all the way through) about every 1/2″ – 1″ to promote even cooking. Pour over prepared apple, sprinkle with salt and cinnamon and nuts.

BAKED APPLE by kellymarie.yoder
BAKED APPLE, a photo by kellymarie.yoder on Flickr.
Leave a Reply

