“Mock”-sgiving: Garlic and Onion Mashed Cauliflower

Right after we got married, my husband and I hosted my family for the Thanksgiving weekend. I was so nervous about getting everything right. I actually cooked a small mock Thanksgiving dinner in October to test my abilities. Looking back, I don’t know why I was really worried, my mom and I are usually in the kitchen together the entire time. We had a blast – as usual.

Recently, we started talking about holiday plans. I found myself getting discouraged about the upcoming holiday season. I kept thinking about how much I was going to miss my favorite holiday dishes. Of those recipes, 90% of them seem to fall on the SCD illegal list… Then I thought, lets turn it around – what a great time to find some new recipes and maybe introduce my family to some different dishes! So over the next few weeks, I’m going to be slowly trying new recipes to add to the Thanksgiving spread!

My mom found this one and passed it along. As usual, I forgot to take a picture until after we’d already dug in. So, if it looks like I tried to mound it again, I did. I’m gonna get better with the photo thing; its just gonna take time. I did not change much to this recipe at all. We are big cheese fans in our house. I did add a little Romano cheese to the blender to incorporate the flavor throughout. If you are following Paleo, just leave out the cheese. Also, I did not have coconut cream, so I substituted butter. You can’t go wrong with butter. This is a great side dish, quite inexpensive and could be my mashed potato substitute for Thanksgiving.

CAULIFLOWER MASH by kellymarie.yoder
CAULIFLOWER MASH, a photo by kellymarie.yoder on Flickr.

GARLIC AND ONION MASHED CAULIFLOWER

1 tbsp coconut creamer (or butter)
1 tsp salt
16 oz cauliflower
1 tsp pepper
3 cloves garlic
5 oz onions

Cut cauliflower (florets and top portion of stalk-peeled if preferred) into similar sized pieces, roughly chop onion and peeled garlic. Add all 3 ingredients to steamer basket. Steam for 6-8 minutes or until very tender. Drain all water and put all ingredients into food processor. Process until smooth. Serve immediately. Top with grated cheese or paprika (optional).

Enjoy!

One response to ““Mock”-sgiving: Garlic and Onion Mashed Cauliflower

  1. Pingback: Our Thanksgiving Menu | nourishing attempts

Leave a Reply

