Black Beans with a Kick!

A couple weeks ago, the husband and I went out for a quick anniversary dinner. We decided to be frugal and use a gift card we’d been meaning to use for Chili’s restaurant. I had gone online a few days prior to see what sort of gluten/grain/refined sugar-free stuff they might have. It can be very challenging finding foods that meet all the limitations. I was pleasantly surprised to find an extensive PDF of allergy information. You can find it here.bbingredients

I got a grilled steak and shrimp combo with a side of broccoli and black beans. I had not had black beans in a really long time and thought they’d be a nice change. Boy was I right. I’ve been thinking about those black beans for 2 weeks now. This week I finally got around to making them.

Following the directions for cooking black beans in Nourishing Traditions, I mixed my dry beans to soak.
bbmixedupbb12hrsoak
The photo on the left is immediately after mixing; photo on the right is after 12 hours of soaking.

According to Nourishing Traditions (pages 495-496), legumes must be prepared carefully to “neutralize phytic acid and enzyme inhibitors” and make them easier to digest.

To prepare black beans: Combine 1 Cup dry beans, 2 Cups filtered water and 1 TBSP lemon juice (or whey). Allow beans to soak 12-24hours. Drain and rinse beans. Add beans to 2Qt pan and cover with 6 Cups water. Bring to boil and skim off foam. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 4-8 hours. Add water as necessary.
Note: Be gentle when stirring beans, they will break down easily.

BLACK BEANS

Prepared black beans
2tsp Chili powder
1/2tsp cumin
1/2tsp garlic powder
1tsp honey
1 fresh jalapeno, diced
1TBSP fresh garlic
salt/pepper to taste
1TBSP butter

Toppings: fresh diced tomatoes, red onions and cilantro

When the black beans are finished cooking and start getting a little thick, add the spices, jalapeno, garlic and butter. [You can leave out the jalapeno completely if you don’t like too much spice, or grade the intensity by leaving out some of the seeds.] Cook for another 30mins, adding water as needed for consistency.

Top as desired and serve warm.

bbfinished

yum! These are a bit of work, but so worth it! Enjoy!

3 responses to “Black Beans with a Kick!

  1. Looks good! Have you ever had chocolate cupcakes made with black beans? It’s really good!

    • No, I have not! But I think I must! I tried black bean brownies a couple years ago. They were pretty good. Technically, I can’t have chocolate yet, but chocolate cupcakes will be going on my must try list for when I can! Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Bonjour my name is June and I’m a writer and this blog really aided me. I’m refocused! Thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

